Guest bedroom or den?

2

May 28, 2013 by stpaulhaus

Just because I didn’t really like the way the after photos I had taken of the guest bedroom turned out here are a few more in actual daylight.  I took these photos right after the appraisal.  We didn’t need to do much to prep this room, in fact, the only thing we did in was vacuum and dust.

image

image image image

That framed cat picture that someone made is absolutely hilarious. My mom got that for us from a sale or something and it still makes me laugh when I look at it.

DSC_0148

The appraiser called this room a den, which is pretty well true because the room can only be accessed by walking through another room. Additionally, city building codes have specific requirements for what you can and cannot call a bedroom.  Some things to consider include ceiling height, size of the windows or egress (have to be large enough to escape in case of a fire), natural lighting/ventilation, location, and size of the room.

There has been much debate as to whether or not a bedroom is a bedroom if it doesn’t have a closet even though there is nothing in the state and city codes that says a bedroom has to have a closet. In a house built in 1987 most likely every bedroom would have closet, but a house that was built in 1887 may not have any closets in the bedrooms at all–but it would be silly not to call them a bedroom. Similarly, an old house may not have any windows that comply with today’s egress standards–but they would still be considered a bedroom.  You can see how it becomes very complicated. For more detailed information about this topic from an actual home inspector in the Twin Cities see this link and this link.

And for the record, I believe our home when we bought it was listed as a 3 bed, 2 bath home with the 3rd bedroom “nonconforming.” A good thing too because I refused to look at any homes that had fewer than “3 bedrooms”.

The appraiser made this floor plan that was in the report he gave us.  I should really make a better one so you people can better understand the layout of the house.

stp haus

I like how it says “patio” by the side door on the left.  How funny.  We don’t really have a patio so much as a crumbling bit of concrete that is approx. 5×6 ft maybe?? We did, however, have a table and chairs set there with the grill.

I have been meaning to get something more permanent up on the chimney that was enclosed in plywood and trim for some time now but we just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  My mom did give us a super cute old frame that we are planning to put up there with a wedding photo in it.  One day.

DSC_0139 DSC_0142

Right now I have this little piece of awesomeness resting up there.  I think it was originally in the office, when I moved it in here to get it out of the way.  I think it will probably go back into the office again though.  A nod to one of my favorite book (and movie) series, I found a similar sign on etsy a few years ago and I decided to make my own version.

DSC_0150 DSC_0145

I printed it on brown craft paper to make it look more authentic. It is supposed to be a funny take on the educational decrees from Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix. Feel free to download the template and make yours say whatever you want:

PROCLAMATION

I just did a quick Google search and found there are a ton of how-to’s and people selling them online if you aren’t the crafty type.

Anyone do anything fun on your 3-day weekend?  I picked up a few things at a flea market, spent some time with family, and got a few things done in the yard. Lucky for me it is a 6 day weekend!! I am starting a new day job here soon and I have a few days off beforehand.  I will have a better work schedule, I don’t have a travel between sites, and I will be closer to the Haus, so hopefully that translates into more time and funds for projects.

Also, in an attempt to build some funds for future projects, we will be hosting the first St. Paul Haus Multi-Family Yard and Bake Sale July 6, 2013 starting at 8 am.  There will be several large furniture items available as well as home decor, clothes, toys, and delicious homemade treats for lucky buyers. I will be posting photos on the STP Haus Facebook page as well as craigslist for interested parties prior to the sale.

2 thoughts on “Guest bedroom or den?

  1. that room is so bright and airy! i LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

Hirshfield's Color Club

We're the Midwest's premier paint and decorating centers.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

All about St. Paul, Minnesota - By: Teresa Boardman

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Welcome to Turtle House

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

