The Great Cover Up (Part 2)

4

October 29, 2012 by stpaulhaus

The chimney project is coming along nicely.  Last time we left off here, with the chimney looking like this:

With all sides paneled, I moved on to the shelf that sits underneath.  After a lot of measuring and cutting, I used a staple gun to temporarily hold these together so I could run and couple nails in each side to hold it together. 

It is easier, and matches up nicer if you nail the edges together in addition to nailing to whatever you are applying the wood to.  This is also true for crown molding which was the next step.  I hate cutting crown molding for two reasons.  1) no matter how many time I look at it, I still get confused how to cut it properly, and 2) wall and ceilings are never square, especially in an old house which makes this job all the more fun.  With some help and approximately one hour, the chimney looked like this:

Those joints are not perfect by any means, but that can easily fixed with my good friend caulk, which we will talk about later.  With the crown in place I went to town on the edging trim.

I used lattice trim for this, making sure to overlap the side edges with the front piece.   I applied wood glue to the back before applying.  I suggest using an old paint brush, or a cheap foam brush to apply the glue, otherwise it will get everywhere and make a big mess on the freshly laid panels.

I also need to put crown molding around the bottom, under that shelf.  Shoot me now.   Once all the trim is up, everything will get a good sanding before I go to town with the caulk gun on this baby.  Then on to the exciting part—the paint. 

I ran out of lattice so I couldn’t finish the last piece of trim below the crown at the top. Drat. I will have to pick up another piece later today, and get that last piece up tonight.

Oh, and I just realized that I never took a proper photo of the sealed brick after it was completely dry. It turned out great and I would recommend the polycrylic sealer to anyone for this type of application. Not a smidge of brick dust or crumbly mortar to be found.  I am anxious to see how it holds up with time.

Also, because I didn’t have the good camera the other day (I use my iPad for photos sometimes but they just don’t turn out as good as the real deal) here is a before and after of the shelves that I put up over the window.  I keep staring at them because they are so pretty.

Stay tuned for Part 3 (AKA it is finally f-ing done) in the next day or two.   What do you think so far?

4 thoughts on “The Great Cover Up (Part 2)

  1. Lory Perryman says:

    Getting gorgeous!

  2. […] (Click here for part 1 and part 2) […]

  3. […] thing out either, so this is a nice compromise. More info on the chimney cover can be found here, here, and […]

  4. […] have been meaning to get something more permanent up on the chimney that was enclosed in plywood and trim for some time now but we just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  My mom did give us a super […]

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow STP Haus and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 220 other followers

The Kitchen

The Guest Bedroom

The Dining Room

The 1/2 Bath

Posts by Room

Hirshfield's Color Club

We're the Midwest's premier paint and decorating centers.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

All about St. Paul, Minnesota - By: Teresa Boardman

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Welcome to Turtle House

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

