The Great Cover Up (Part 1)

6

October 27, 2012 by stpaulhaus

This was one of those projects that was put on the back burner for awhile, but now I am back at it mainly because it is too dang cold outside to get anything done out there. I would like autumn back, asap, thanks.  Remember we left off here, with this..

With the brick sealed, I essential measured around the chimney and put up a frame made of square pine to act as nailing boards for the plywood that will be going up to cover the chimney. I made a tapered effect (narrower at the bottom and wider at the top for fun. I didn’t want to go too crazy with it because it is a small room, but I thought it would draw the eye up and make the room appear slightly larger (I hope).  I used wood screws to hold these together.

I did predrill most of the holes, but you can see there are some that I did not which was a mistake because the narrow wood split when I drove the screws in. Oops.

I had my wonderful husband home this morning to help me with the next step–cutting the plywood cover.

we don’t have a table saw which would have been the proper saw to use, and we don’t have a circular saw which would have been option number two, but we did just get a jig saw, which worked fine. Good thing he has a steady hand.

The two side panels went on first, and the front panel will go on after as to cover the rough edges of the side panels.

We ran out of plywood, so we couldn’t finish the front panel, but it is nice to get part of this done. Once all the panels are in place, I will throw up some trim around the edges and give it a coat of primer and high gloss white cabinet paint.

I also had time to do this…

Super cute bracket shelves that I found on sale at Menards were put up over each window. these could probably be made for half the cost, but I don’t have the right tools to make a nice edge like this one…

Also, for when someone else decides to remodel 50 years from now…

We are getting really closer to the big reveal here!! So very exciting! More to come tomorrow. Hoping for a productive weekend.  What are your home improvement plans?

6 thoughts on “The Great Cover Up (Part 1)

  1. maureen says:

    Cute “time capsule” idea!!

    • stpaulhaus says:

      I know! SO much fun. 🙂 I wish i found notes in my walls 🙂 By the way, it has been fun following your journey the past few weeks! Bet it is good to be home, even if you came home to a mess 😦 It takes a lot for me to trust a contractor with anything these days.

  2. […] chimney project is coming along nicely.  Last time we left off here, with the chimney looking like […]

  3. […] whole thing out either, so this is a nice compromise. More info on the chimney cover can be found here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow STP Haus and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 220 other followers

The Kitchen

The Guest Bedroom

The Dining Room

The 1/2 Bath

Posts by Room

Hirshfield's Color Club

We're the Midwest's premier paint and decorating centers.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

All about St. Paul, Minnesota - By: Teresa Boardman

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Welcome to Turtle House

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

