Stripping Down

5

September 22, 2012 by stpaulhaus

That got your attention.

So here is a photo of the Magic Strip in action:

This is about 16hrs after application. You can see that it has turned a lighter color in some places.  This product is really nice because it forms a film on the top that allows it to keep working without drying out on the inside.  It works a lot better if you put on a nice thick layer. It is supposed to work in 4-24 hrs depending on how many layers it has.  I probably kept it on longer than needed—but I do have this annoying thing I have to go to during the week called ‘work’, and since I actually get paid for doing that I thought I better get a product that I could leave on for extended periods of time.

The magic strip (and old paint) comes off pretty easy with a few scraps from a putty knife.  It is actually kind of fun…until you realize that you have 3 more hours of it and you have exhasterbated your golfer’s elbow (I don’t golf).

Finally it is done though..sort of.

The next step is to clean off all the leftover bit and pieces of stripper and prepare it for sanding. I used a product also by Zinsser that is compatable with Magic Strip called StripWash.  I think this stuff is worse than the stripper its self.  Basically you apply the wash to the piece and rub it changing cloths frequently, to remove all the grim.  Once it is dried, it is ready to be sanded, or is time to have a large bonfire.

No, I did not set the dresser aflame, but I may have thought about it a few times.  That was all I had time for before it got dark last night and this morning I was over at my mother-in-law’s house doing some more work in her yard.  we put in a few more stepping stones near the hose so everything doesn’t get so muddy around there. I didn’t have my camera along, but I will snap one next time I am over there.  I think I should have time to begin sanding this baby tomorrow after the Vikings game…TBD.

What are your plans for Sunday?

5 thoughts on “Stripping Down

  1. Lory Perryman says:

    I enjoy your writing style – it keeps the reader engaged. will look forward to the finished product.

  2. […] I started by stripping the top with the same product that I used on the old dresser here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow STP Haus and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 220 other followers

The Kitchen

The Guest Bedroom

The Dining Room

The 1/2 Bath

Posts by Room

Hirshfield's Color Club

We're the Midwest's premier paint and decorating centers.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

All about St. Paul, Minnesota - By: Teresa Boardman

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Welcome to Turtle House

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

