Progress Updates

10

June 24, 2012 by stpaulhaus

Sorry, it has been awhile since my last post, but we have been busy, plus the camera has been in use a lot lately so I haven’t been able to photograph anything.  No worries, I will get you the kitchen post very soon, but in the mean time I will update you on what has been going on around here lately.

Monday-Wednesday I worked on the guest bedroom.  I got the carpet, pad, and subfloor pulled out to expose the wood floors.

I also started removing the skim coat off the old chimney.  This is a horrible and dusty process.

The top 1/2 of the chimney does not look the greatest, so I might re-skim coat that, put some molding around the middle and leave the bottom (which looks awesome) exposed.   Once that is complete, it will get a coat of sealer to make sure it doesnt become a crumbly mess later on.  Finally, the floors will get a good sanding and a coat of stain and poly.  I cannot wait until this is done.  It will be nice to have a guest bedroom again.  A friend of mine was down in the cities on Thursday and had to sleep on the couch. The plan is to have the room completely done in one weeks time.

Thursday was an unproductive day as I worked until 5 at the clinic then headed over to Concordia Univeristy to provide medical coverage for a high school basketball league until 11pm.  At least my friend Suzie was here to keep me company. I was also lucky enough to have Chad Welk grace me with his presence.

Friday we bought a new car! LOVE.

Yesterday I spent pretty much the entire day  tending to the yard. Mowing, weeding, trimming trees, and working on the retaining wall.  And you thought the retaining wall was finished…actually, it is finished, but I decided to use the leftovers to make the other side of the steps match the shiny new retaining wall on the other side.  The retaining wall on the left side is still in pretty good shape  so we decided to save the cash and not redo it at this point, but the portion along the steps was really crumby and the previous owner has tried to make it look better by covering it with quickcrete–FAIL. This made it look even worse.

So yesterday when Adrian was at a wedding I smashed it all up, tore it all out, and put down the retaining wall blocks by myself–which was a challange to say the least.  Those suckers weight 75Ibs each and trying to manuver them into a small space is not really my idea of a good time.  6hrs later it was nearly complete. I ran out of masonry adhesive so everything needs to be glued still, and the blocks need to be back filled.  It is suggested by the maufacter that the corner blocks be glued, because they do not have the special gripping bottom edge.  Also, some of the caps need to be split to give them a rough edge.  I was actually just one cap short, so I will have to make a trip to Menards to get one more.

On the agenda today:

  • Finish retaining wall
  • Leaf blow the retaining wall and steps
  • Power wash the steps
  • Stain/seal the steps
  • Stain/seal the lonely piece of trim on the porch exterior
  • Make raised bed on the end of the lower lot
  • Install lawn bed/lawn edging
  • Mulch, mulch, mulch!
  • Get rid of the old plywood/carpet/pad from the guest bedroom (which has been taking up space in the porch

If there is any daylight left I’ll try to snap a few pics. Otherwise I will get to it tomorrow after I get home from the day job, you know, the one that I actually get paid for.

It is such a nice day! Anyone else doing yard projects today?

10 thoughts on “Progress Updates

  1. Suzie says:

    Yayyy! We both got our shout-outs! 🙂 But I was mentioned twice 😀 Your house is looking more and more fabulous everytime I come down to stay! Keep up the fantastic work! xoxo

  2. Apryl says:

    Asbestos on the chimney?
    I think an urban clock on the chimney would look awesome!
    I can’t wait to see the floors!

  3. Chad says:

    Thanks for the Shoutout Deutsch!!! Cant believe how much you are doing to your place!! Looks like you guys are doing a great job!! I told AP that I would be more than happy to give you the # for my handyman!!!

    PS-I painted all of the hardwood floors in my house lavendar….thoughts??

  4. […] you recall the post about all the yards work that I planned to get done before sun down on Sunday.  Here was the list […]

  5. […] You may recall my original plans for the chimney: […]

  6. Dr. Chatman says:

    Sarah, I’m about ready to rename you the newest Bionic woman in town. I can’t believe such a quiet, introverted and sweet person can accomplish such rigorous, backbreaking, strenuous, and hard-core work. You have such great taste, skills and ingenuity. The outcomes are beautiful, classy and well-done. Adrian showed me to this page, which I wanted to see after Jessica raved about your work after the parade on Saturday. I’d definitely be willing to hire you if you ever decided to change careers.

Leave a Reply

Hirshfield's Color Club

We're the Midwest's premier paint and decorating centers.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

All about St. Paul, Minnesota - By: Teresa Boardman

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Welcome to Turtle House

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

