The Window Seat is Done!

3

March 20, 2013 by stpaulhaus

Just kidding.  I wish.  Damnit.

Last time I left off here with the freshly painted cabinets and the top still encased in plastic:

image

I did, however, make a really small bit of progress by finally getting the two separate 12 ft boards screwed together using my trusty Kreg Jig to take the 16in wide bench top.

image

The manufacturer suggests that boards should be 6 in wide or less when edge joining. I did not read that until after I bought the boards, and you would have had to hold a gun to my head to pack up and exchange a 10 in x 12ft  long board.  I decided just to edge join them anyway.  Seems to be okay so far–hopefully it doesn’t break into 1 million ass splintering pieces as soon as someone sits on it. imageAfter screwing it together, the whole thing got a nice sanding and I threw on a couple of different stain options on the back side just to test it out.  I actually used 3 different ones here, but the 2 on the left look almost the same and you can’t really see a difference in this photo–or in real life for that matter.

image

I did go with the one on the far right.  It should turn out a little darker than pictured above, as that is only one coat and I plan to do two. Plus it always darkens just a hair when you put on the final seal coat.  The color, if you are at all curious, is ‘Red Mahogany’ and I thought it looked nice with the shelving in the built-in that we just finished not to long ago. I decided to stay away from the really dark (almost black) finishes because I didn’t think that it would blend well with the other wood tones in the room. Now that I am thinking about it, this color also matched well with the stools at the peninsula.

DSC_1621

One small stop closer to a reveal. I did have a very busy weekend, so I wasn’t able to get too much done.  I am hoping to finish it off by Sunday night.  Wish me luck and productivity.

What do you think about the stain color? Anyone else out there making cool things with a kreg jig? I just love that thing!

3 thoughts on “The Window Seat is Done!

  1. I got so excited with the title of this post, ha! But you are SO CLOSE to calling it done. I send encouragement from California! :)

  2. […] check out the previous posts about the window seat here. […]

Leave a Reply

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Young House Love

One Young Family + One Old House = Love

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

Our Humble Abode

Transforming Ugly, One Room at a Time

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

