An Old Door Makes an Entrance

Leave a comment

March 7, 2013 by stpaulhaus

Check out this awesome door that I scored off my folks:

DSC_0026

This door at one point was attached to a super old house.

DSC_0025

Complete with incredibly tiny door knobs…DSC_0027
DSC_0024

Isn’t that the cutest thing ever!?

It looks like it only has one coat of paint on it–unlike my front door which has approximately 1 million coats of paint.  I haven’t decided if I am going to strip the paint off and stain it, or perhaps repaint it.

I do have plans for this door, but I am not sure if it is going to work. I would like a door to the basement, but there is really not a whole lot of room. Basically it would be a door opening up to another door–which means that one door must to closed to open the other.  Not a huge deal, but could get annoying.  I was thinking about making the door open into the stairs–but that would just be a terrible, terrible death trap which is likely not up to any sort of code.  Right now there is no door, just an open staircase.

I should have really taken a photo so you could see what the hell i am talking about. I would have to frame in this bad boy and do a fair amount of finish work.

I have been thinking about this for some time now and I think it would be a good idea as far a weatherization of the house.

What do you think? Strip and stain or paint a bright color?

Leave a Reply

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Young House Love

Two Young People + One Old House = Love

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

Our Humble Abode

Transforming Ugly, One Room at a Time

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

