Quick and Dirty Wooden Chair Sleeve

7

March 3, 2013 by stpaulhaus

Inspiration from The Ugly Duckling House, The Ambitious Procrastinator, and Merrypad. (I’m sure there are more out there) led me to craft my own version of a chair/couch arm sleeve side table like this one that Sarah at The Ugly Ducking House made:

DIY wooden couch sleeve

If you recall my guest bedroom, there really isn’t anymore room for an end table by the chair, but I really wanted some place to put my laptop/beverage/breakfast/etc.

Actually, I really just needed an excuse to test put my new Kreg Jig.  I vow that I am going to make so many things with this toy! Check it out…

It was super easy.  I cut 3 pieces of oak I had laying around to size.

DSC_0004

Secured the sides in the jig and drilled 3 holes in each board before drilling them to the top.   DSC_0006 DSC_0007 DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0010

I slapped on some chestnut stain that I had on hand, then finished with two coats of polyacrilic.  Voila!

DSC_0030

image image image

I set the side back slightly from the face of the top for a more architectural and furniture feel.

image

And I also decided to make the top much larger so it could accommodate Adrian’s insanely huge and heavy laptop.  image

The whole thing literally took 10 min (excluding drying time) to make.  Even Simi was mesmorized at how easy it was:

DSC_0018

OC’s reaction to how easy this was:  DSC_0020

I love it.  I think this would be really nice with a beautiful piece of reclaimed wood, but the oak I had laying around isn’t bad either. If you aren’t a fan of oak grain I would suggest either using a darker stain or picking up a piece of wood that is a little cleaner such as walnut, cherry, or alder.

image

Whatcha think??

For those of you wondering, I did make a small amount of progress on the window seat this weekend. I am hoping to get that top on very soon, but stain and sealing will have to wait until warmer weather so I can open up some windows. I don’t want my cats to die.

Anyone else out there use any saws this past weekend and still have all your digits?



7 thoughts on “Quick and Dirty Wooden Chair Sleeve

  1. Lory says:

    I’ve never seen anything like this – so cute and practical! The oak looks very polished. As for staining and sealing, I appreciate that it waiting will be safe for you and your husband :)

    • stpaulhaus says:

      Thanks Lory. Yes the fumes can be overbearing. Hopefully we wont have to wait too long. i think Spring is coming…your grandsons keep trying to get outside. Well they were before the snow storm.

  2. That looks awesome! I like the overhang, it’s practical and adds some pizzazz :)

  3. [...] bit of progress by finally getting the two separate 12 ft boards screwed together using my trusty Kreg Jig to take the 16in wide bench [...]

Leave a Reply

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Young House Love

Two Young People + One Old House = Love

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Hazardous Design

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

Our Humble Abode

Transforming Ugly, One Room at a Time

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

