Window Seat

9

February 11, 2013 by stpaulhaus

If you recall we left off here, with the window seat half done.

DSC_0050

With a little elbow grease and some new clamps, I got everything screwed together.

You may remember this odd corner situation going on here.

DSC_0111

I decided the easiest way to take care of this was to work around that vent. I bought some oak boards to go on top of window seat.  I plan to extend them all the way to the wall, and there will just be an empty space there right underneath.

Now it is ready for the paint! Yuuss.

Not quite…

First everything had to be sanded and primed

image image

image

before it could get 2 coats of white cabinet paint.

image

image image

Glorious.

Now I just need to get the top on this baby, and maybe some pillows. Can’t wait. The top will be made of those long ass oak boards that I need to screw together to make one really wide board.  I looked at several options for the top, and this one was the best option. I also thought about more shelving like I used here, pine boards, reclaimed lumber, and plywood. I used plywood on the kitchen window seat, and I wanted to do something different this time. The reclaimed wood was too expensive and the shelving was not resilient enough. The pine, although attractive in price, was not my idea of attractive. Dark stained oak it is!

This was happening while I was painting…

image

image

Being snowed in can really light a fire under your diy ass.

I am really happy with the way the window seat is turning out so far.  What do you think?

image

9 thoughts on “Window Seat

  1. It looks awesome! I like that the top will be stained to contrast with the painted body. Can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

  2. Beautiful! I’ve always wanted a window seat. Lucky you!

  3. […] those of you wondering, I did make a small amount of progress on the window seat this weekend. I am hoping to get that top on very soon, but stain and sealing will have to wait […]

Leave a Reply

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Young House Love

One Young Family + One Old House = Love

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

Our Humble Abode

Transforming Ugly, One Room at a Time

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

