Doin Work

2

January 14, 2013 by stpaulhaus

After a couple weeks of not getting much of anything done around here, I finally got back into the swing of things.  I had the chance to get some more work done on the dining room.  Whilst working on the room, I was lucky enough to watch this piece of cinematic awesomeness:

Yes, Kazaam was actually on TV. I last time I saw this was in the movie theater was I was 9; I remember it being way cooler the first time.

Now please turn your attention to the grossly untrimmed built-in thingy in our dining room that is full of crap. You can read about the original plan for this baby here.

DSC_0348

I used 1x poplar boards from Menards for the trim.  It was the same trim that we used for the pass-through. I actually planned for the trim to match the style of the pass-though so the room would be more cohesive.  I cut all the boards to size and attached them to the wall with trim nails. The boards were also glued to each other for strength. DSC_0350

DSC_0351

I also got up that piece of chairrail that I have been putting off. So nice to finally get that up in place.

DSC_0353

DSC_0354

A close up of the very simple trim design that I can up with for this built-in…DSC_0355

DSC_0356

With the boards in place, it was time for the crown molding, setting all the nail heads, and filling in the holes with putty. DSC_0357

DSC_0358

DSC_0361

After a good sanding and wipe down, I brushed on a coat of primer. eeek.. almost done.

DSC_0362

Now I just need to put on a couple coats of paint, and the trim will be complete. yuuss. I still have a lot of other work to do to complete the inside, however.

I love the way the built-in is turning out so far.  I am straying away from my original plan for the built-in cabinet, but I am hopeful that it will still turn out ok.  We decided that we need to stick to a smaller budget for this room, but that doesn’t mean that it can’t look nice. Maybe this will give you an idea of what is to come next…

DSC_0364

SMILEEEEEEEEYYYY FAAAAACEE!

As for the window seat, if you recall we left off here with the window seat half done.

With a little elbow grease and some new clamps, I got everything screwed together.

DSC_0106

DSC_0105

DSC_0107

You may remember this odd corner situation going on. I decided the easiest to take care of this is to work around that vent, rather than move it. I bought some oak boards to go on top of window seat.  I plan to extend them all the way to the wall.  There will then be an empty space there under the bench.  I thought it looked a little weird, so I decided to panel it with some plywood.

Because i thought about this after it was much too late to be able to do it properly, we had to connect the plywood to the wall with panel adhesive. I couldn’t get a hammer in there.

DSC_0109

DSC_0110

DSC_0111

Sadly, I cannot fit my caulk gun in that space properly to be able to caulk all the edges. I am going to have to buy the stuff that comes in squeeze tubes to get in there and make it look nice. I really do not think that anyone will be getting down on their hands and knees to look under there–but it would just bother me knowing it was not done properly. You may be asking yourself what the heck I am going to do with that small strange little area…well i guess you will just have to wonder a little bit more until I finish it off. MUUUAAAAAHHHHHAAAAHHHAAA.

What do you think of my carpentry skills–or lack there of. What projects are you working on?  Post a picture of your latest DIY masterpiece on the STP Haus Facebook page. We would love you see what our followers are up to!

2 thoughts on “Doin Work

  1. Lory Perryman says:

    perfectionist :)

  2. […] time we left off here, with the dining room built-in half complete with the trim in place and […]

Leave a Reply

St. Paul Haus

Bout dat DIY life

The Mendota Project

Adventures in first time homeownership and DIY

D'oh!-I-Y

Curious Adventures in Home Improvement

ReubensCube

Probably the best blog on the internet.

St. Paul, MN Photos

Who needs words? By Teresa Boardman

St. Paul Real Estate Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Young House Love

One Young Family + One Old House = Love

DIYdiva

A Home Improvement & DIY Blog

Bout Dat DIY Life

Bout Dat DIY Life

Russet Street Reno

Bout Dat DIY Life

Just a girl with a hammer

Bout Dat DIY Life

Picardy Project

Bout Dat DIY Life

Our Humble Abode

Transforming Ugly, One Room at a Time

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

